bk AHC: Working on my books..

an excerpt from my latest book AHC [https://sellfy.com/p/ujMc], from the chapter 25, “Work on the book”. it shows the way i’m writing, which may be informative to those who read my books and the blog. pictures and much of specific information about writing the particular book i have left out here, giving just a general view of my style of writing.

/…/

My life can be concluded with the saying that the world is my home. There are so many places I call home that now I already feel at home almost anywhere I go. I have lived for a longer period of time (for half a year and much more) in over ten countries. You don’t need much money for such a journey, there are many people who can confirm that with their lives and there’s nothing special in it these days. It can be special only for those who live that life and enjoy every minute of the life on the road.

/…/

During my travels I worked on developing the encryption method quite often, especially when there was nothing else better to do. I prefer to spend my life as fully as possible — learning, training, developing — thus while out in the wild and daily meditation done then it wasn’t an option for me just to sit around doing nothing. It would have been equal to wasting life. Then I worked on something useful, which may help my life is some ways, and cryptography was one of these useful things.

I must admit that my friends haven’t been very supportive with me about working on the book, those who knew it. Even though the book is a technical piece and on a unique subject, my friends still thought it’s a waste of time and were very much insisting on it, up to some of them having arguments with me quite angrily proposing that I should better fix my life — find a job and settle down. So, after meeting such ‘resistance’ several times, at some point I simply stopped talking about the idea of working on the book, which by this time was done in general but not up to the level to approach publishers in my opinion. Only occasionally I mentioned that it’s still in my mind and needs to be done. Instead of writing I was running around trying to find a job, which in total makes perhaps over a year of wasted time.. could have written couple of books in this time, but who knew in advance. Some small jobs helped to pay my phone bills and some other urgent things.

/…/

I had to concentrate on this work entirely and it was done in no time when I knew I have the chance to work on it with no pressure. Every writer has his/her personal likes in writing a book. For me I need to take the work up and do it once, not leaving some parts for later time in life, who knows when, while finding another moment of free time. I finished the book in few weeks in 2013 and after a fast grammar check in the end I called it a day.

/…/

While I’ve been most of the last 20 years traveling, in every new place where I decided to stay for a while I had to find a temporary job, where possible getting the paperwork done for a legal stay. And I had to find a place to live with all the head ache coming with it. During my first years in exile it wasn’t that hard to find a job, only needed to learn to speak the local language a bit, and then it was easy.. but as having no legal stay these were all temporary and little paid jobs. Many years later, when having legalized my stay almost everywhere I went, no matter how well and how many languages I spoke by this time, to find a job was often almost impossible. The world had changed and not for the better.. for the working class I mean.
In the beginning I even managed to kind of settle down, to rent a place, design my own home buying all the things a cozy home needs.. but after several places changed, giving almost everything away or leaving behind, taking with me just one backpack with necessary things, I stopped setting up my homes even when staying for a long time in some places. I couldn’t afford to waste money on anything more than minimally needed as I was never sure I could call another new place a home the next day.
Often I began in a new place living in tent, or simply in sleeping bag on the street, and that lifestyle often took lots of extra time to find places to take shower and wash clothes, to find food while no money in pocket, to find from donations clothes and shoes when they were wearing off, to travel between places of camping and places to eat daily etc. — writing a book wasn’t an option in these conditions because even the battery of cellphone had to be charged in a random place, not to talk about working long hours on a computer or tablet, which I did succeed to buy with the money from occasional jobs after some devices broke down or got stolen. The irony is here that when in recent times I worked sometimes with a contract and rented an apartment I had less free money available for electronics than when I lived in a tent and only had occasional jobs from time to time — the pay of workers had become so small compared to expenses.
There have been many electronic devices I lost in my life to destruction, hacking and stealing, well over ten of them in the last 15 years, since time when I became more active in politics than I was before. I was actively spreading truthful information about how the world really works. I did lots of research on current world affairs as it was more important than writing a book. In times when I lived in a house and had a connection to internet I was sharing alternative documentaries in many ways — on my websites, blogs, by e-mails, on DVD-s, shared fliers with my website address in public places to spread the information unavailable on corporate media, and so on. I have dedicated to it a lot of time, especially since 2003. A lot. And I don’t regret it. So no surprise several my blogs got blocked, documentary films and political videos often removed and related accounts on social sites deleted — that’s the so called freedom of information in our ‘democratic’ world.. up to hacking of my computers and worse.
In times when I found somewhat stable job and rented an apartment, in few occasions I noticed that the places were searched without my presence. One day when I was supposed to be at a meeting but decided to stay home, one man entered my apartment with his own key. I heard someone entering and confronted him at the door.. he mumbled something that he had lived in the place before and forgot something. I let him go not to begin a full investigation as I had enough issues to deal with — I simply had no time for it as economical survival was priority and finding out who spied on me wouldn’t change in my life anything. I was doing nothing illegal, I had nothing to hide and it was actually them who wasted their time on me. Since then all the secret searches had stopped in that place, or been made more carefully, who knows. Well, I also installed an alarm with detector of movement, so maybe that helped. Some years later, in another country, in one place which I rented on the last floor, the ceiling was drilled through like in a spy movie. Coming home I found some small white pieces on the floor which weren’t there before going out. I tried to figure out what happened and laid down, and then I noticed a hole in the ceiling. Funny as it was, I made a remark about it on one of my social accounts, and I got left alone again.
At some point in my life the things had began developing so weird, as to noticing people following on the street, in several countries, which by my work experience in security and personal protection wasn’t too difficult to understand. With specific actions I made these people to lose an open interest in me, but I did have to keep my casting agent informed, in case something bad had happened to me. At times we had a deal that if no news from me during three days then contacts in the news media will be informed. And I talked with the police as well, who claimed they can do nothing until something does happen. In one country I was even arrested on fake medical charges, as being dangerous to public (a contagious disease they claimed), and kept in a hospital under heavy medication. I got suspicious and refused to take medication until I could see the results of the tests. And then I got miraculously cured without any further medication regardless that I was told I’ve got only about two years to live if I stopped taking the medication. By the way, the side effects of the medication could have been getting permanently blind and deaf, for exchange of staying alive, and that was one reason I stopped the treatment preferring rather to die than to live that way. I explained to the treating doctor my preference to die very calmly and confidently, which probably prompted leaving me alone. In yet another country I was surrounded by anti-terrorist unit with machine guns simply for an attempt to take out my own money (salary of my last work) from my bank account. The list can go on, but that’s the material for another book, so I don’t mention particular countries and places here. All that happened before I began writing the book on the cryptography method and barely anyone knew I had developed such writing. It was still just one of my hobbies, till I decided it’s the time to put it all down on paper and to share with others.
Last few years my life has been more relaxed, apart of the economically tough times with no job or some occasional jobs with a very little pay. But it still happens that some things remind me about the all seeing eye, or ‘big brother’ watching. Once I had some monthly available international calling time left on my cellphone, which would have expired in few days by the conditions of the contract. I could have called for an hour to almost any country in world, so I decided to call my friends whom I haven’t talked for a while, to find out how’s the life going. When I had called perhaps to 10-15 friends in different countries I got an incoming call which looked like Canadian or US number. The man asked what is happening, and on my question whom I was talking to got the response that he’s from Interpol and needs to know why am I calling to so many countries. Again, funny as it was, I said that I got many friends, on which he warned me to watch out and hanged up. As I later joked on a social site, at least I have the number now to call when my cellphone will be lost or gets stolen.
I have gone through several refugee camps in different parts of the world, living unstable life ready to be arrested and deported at any time. And it had happened many times. Since having been imprisoned in several countries as the result of my political life, for many weeks and months at time, it was another reason why I wasn’t taking up the task to write a book little by little — I was never sure I could finish the book before yet another issue, which would have restricted my work for a long time. So, writing a book in a compressed manner, in a short and calm period in a stable place, was the only reliable option for me, to get the job done.

/…/

Maybe an irrelevant information, but to those of you who like to learn how a book is written, these pictures may give a better sense of it. As a poor man ever I also worked on the book in places where I had to go to get some free food provided by social services or by volunteers of different organizations. When I had a thought that needed to be written I didn’t waste my time till I got back to my temporary home. Often these places were very noisy, but I got around the problem by putting on earphones with some music on the loudest possible level and switched my mind off the outer world, working on the book.

/…/

My style of writing a book is to have a total freedom. Not that I need to work on it 12-15 hours a day, which I did for the general layout of the book in the beginning, but I need to have the freedom to jump onto writing at any point in time when an idea needs to be written down, not waiting for it half a day till the possibility arrives at last. Because in a busy life by that time when I can get to writing again some of the thoughts may have been lost and it’s a waste of time to try to figure out what exactly I was thinking back then while the new thoughts need to be written down in the short moments available.

Same with my first book which I wrote almost 20 years ago for students in my school of martial arts. Back then I had a family, two small children, a private school of martial arts, several businesses, and was also in almost constant move. I managed to take me off all the daily hassle for two weeks leaving other people in charge of urgent things in business and advanced students in charge of training, locked me up in the office and concentrated on writing the book on philosophy of thinking. I published the book on my own expense just a few months later, after a quick editing in about 10 days. My first book wasn’t written in English by the way, I could barely understand few words in English back then. It was a kind of manual for students of martial arts, not to repeat the philosophy to every new student — it was easier to give the book first and then to explain further if something was unclear. The book was translated the same year by someone I hired for it, but I never had the chance to approach publishers for the translated English version — my political problems had just began getting serious and I ended up in exile where I am to this day. The English version of my book on philosophy of thinking has been free to download on my different websites for over ten years.

/…/

Before finding the right place and time I couldn’t just sit around writing a book while having no stable or sufficient income, but I used that time to develop my methods of cryptography. I also had fun with an ‘artwork’ — the hieroglyphs written on the photos taken by Hubble telescope downloaded from public and free to use sources. The ‘artwork’ (chapter 27) is from the year 2011, when I was living in a refugee camp. It was done on an old laptop given to me as a gift in times when I was locked up in a hospital as a supposedly contagious person and danger for the society. After getting free from hospital I spent some time in the camp recovering from all the medication. Working on cryptography and ‘art’ was a way to forget the condition I was living in.

/…/

Instead of a bulky laptop i switched to tablets which lasted on battery for many hours and I also succeeded to buy an expensive large battery to recharge the tablets on the go. I could leave the battery to charge in some place for a day when needed. External bluetooth keyboard and bluetooth mouse were also expensive but absolutely necessary to work on the book.

/…/

// a photo from the book..

tablet-in-tent

Leave a Reply

